Three Waters


Water Services Entities

The reforms propose that the drinking water, wastewater and stormwater services currently provided by councils will be delivered by four Water Services Entities from 1 July 2024.

Entity A 

Auckland, Far North District Council, Kaipara District Council, Whangarei District Council. 

Entity B

Hamilton City Council, Hauraki District Council, Kawerau District Council, Matamata-Piako District Council, New Plymouth District Council, Opotiki District Council, Otorohanga District Council, Rangitikei District Council, Rotorua Lakes Council, Ruapehu District Council, South Taranaki District Council, South Waikato District Council, Stratford District Council, Taupo District Council, Tauranga District Council, Thames-Coromandel District Council, Waikato District Council, Stratford District Council, Taupo District Council, Tauranga City Council, Thames-Coromandel District, Waikato District Council, Waipa District Council, Waitomo District Council, Western Bay of Plenty District, Whakatane District Council, Whanganui District Council. 

Entity C

Carterton District Council, Central Hawke's Bay District Council, Chatham Islands Council, Gisborne District Council, Greater Wellington, Hastings District Council, Horowhenua District Council, Kapiti Coast District Council, Hutt City Council, Manawatu District Council, Marlborough District Council, Masterton District Council, Napier District Council, Nelson District Council, Palmerston North City Council, Porirua City Council, South Wairarapa District Council, Tararua District Council, Tasman District Council, Upper Hutt City Council, Wairoa District Council, Wellington City Council. 

Entity D

Ashburton District Council, Buller District Council, Central Otago District Council, Christchurch City Council, Clutha District Council, Dunedin City Council, Gore District Council, Grey District Council, Hurunui District Council, Invercargill City Council, Kaikoura District Council, Mackenzie District Council, Queenstown Lakes District Council, Selwyn District Council, Southland District Council, Timaru District Council, Waimakariri District Council, Waimate District Council, Waitaki District Council, Westland District Council. 


Entity A covers the top of the North Island of New Zealand. Entity B covers the west and central North Island, Entity C covers the east side of the North Island and top of the South Island, Entity D covers the majority of the South Island.

Map of the areas covered by Entities A, B, C, and D.